The Torah section of the Hebrew scriptures is made up of the five books of Moses, generally the first five books in published editions of the Bible. To date the collection contains ten Torah scrolls with a Holy Ark.

The term "Torah" is derived from the Hebrew verb, yarah, meaning "to point out, to lay a foundation, to instruct." In many places the word Torah could be translated "instruction" and consists of more than 613 commandments.

Some of the Torahs in the display are dressed in a cloth covering or decorated with a sterling silver breastplate (Ashkenazi). Other Torahs in the display are in an ornamental sterling silver or wooden case and decorated with a Torah crown (Sephardic).

torah ark