In the Jewish canon the Neviim (prophets) section of the Tanakh spans all the way from the book of Joshua (1400 BCE) to the last of the prophets, Malachi (400 BCE). The Prophets have two major subdivisions: Former Prophets (Rishonim) and the Latter Prophets (Aharonim). 

The Rishonim contains the narrative books, Joshua, Judges, Samuel, and Kings. Each book is its own scroll with I & II Samuel written as one scroll as well as I & II Kings.

The Aharonim contains the prophecies in the form of Biblical poetry. This division includes: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel and the Twelve - Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi. (The twelve are all written on one scroll.)

prophets former